My Drugstore Favourites #2

Image

As promised, here is the second part to my on-going blog column of drugstore favourites. Today, I have a BB cream, some mascaras and some bronzers to share.

 Image

The first product is Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream. This product intrigued me when I first read about it because it was one of the first tinted moisturizer/BB cream that was marketed as being matte and for combination to oily skin. Another one that I am familiar with is the Jouer Matte Moisture Tint, which I am dying to try! But, alas, Jouer is not available here in Vancouver. Oh, a product not available in Canada? What’s new! Anyways, that is another story for another time. I was ecstatic to try this BB Cream and I am so glad I did. While it is not as long wearing as many of the foundations that I like, it does a splendid job for being a BB Cream. The coverage is buildable from light to medium and I like it for fuss-free makeup days. It is very liquid-y so it spreads and applies like a dream. However, be careful with how you store and dispense it because leakage is common. I liked it so much that I bought both the shades that it comes in so I have a match all year round.

 Image

The second products are my two favourite waterproof mascaras. I have moderately long and voluminous lashes but they do not hold a curl. Waterproof mascaras are the only types of mascaras that allow me to keep the curl from my eyelash curler (Shu Uemura <3). While I have tried countless others, these are my favourites. The first, Covergirl Lash Blast Waterproof is my truest holy grail. I have repurchased it countless times and love it. This mascara is the most heavy-duty mascara that I have ever used. I remember swimming with it and wearing it in hot climates like Hong Kong and Las Vegas. Because of this, it is a little tough to remove but Clarins Instant Eye-Makeup Remover always comes to the rescue. This mascara is a little dryer than most waterproof formulas so it really does the best job at holding a curl. The second, Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express Waterproof does not hold a curl as well as the Lash Blast but it does a better job at creating volume. This one is also not as long wearing so it is easier to remove. I love both these mascaras equally and switch them up depending on what kind of look or plan I have for the day.

Image

Image

 Top: Sunshine, Left: Sun Dance, Right: Sun Light

The third products are Rimmel Natural Bronzers. I own three out of the four that are available. The shades are Sunshine, Sun Dance and Sun Light. I love all three shades and use them for different purposes. The lightest shade, 020 Sunshine I use as a highlight. It is the perfect highlight, which imparts the most beautiful glowy, golden sheen. The second shade, 027 Sun Dance is a gorgeous bronzy, shimmery light brown. I like using this one as a blush as it really does a great job of acting as a blush while giving some definition to the cheek. The third shade, 021 Sun Light is a matte warm brown. I use this one as a traditional bronzer around the hairline and in the slight hollows of the cheek. I prefer to not contour with this one because of its orangey undertone but it does a great job of giving the face a bit of warmth.

2 thoughts on “My Drugstore Favourites #2

Leave a Reply

