Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

Image

Every so often you come across a product that is just amazing and you want to talk to everyone about it and sometimes you often have to consciously stop yourself from doing so. That product for me is the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation. I discovered this last year and while it did take some time for me to appreciate it, the love is now strong. At first, my biggest gripe about it was that I could never really find a colour match for myself. I thought that Medium 54 was way too dark and Medium 52 was way too light. It was when I finally decided to stop judging the colours based on swatches and asked for a sample, when I saw the light. Medium 52 blended seamlessly into my neck and it really was a good match. Learn from my mistake and ask for samples to truly get the full trial experience of a foundation.

Image

I have some pretty damn oily skin. It is a blessing in disguise (or so they say…) because apparently, oily skin folks get fewer wrinkles. It seems more like a pain in the #$& right now though!! Ha. Ha. Anyways, because of this, I really need a foundation to stay on my skin. I am often out for long days of classes and I really need something that will not make me look like a shiny mess at the end of the day. This foundation manages to do just that without feeling too cakey and mask-like. I get a little bit shiny at the end of the day but out of all the long wearing foundations that I have tried, this one holds up the best. The coverage is superb and on some days, I can even skip concealer. I like applying this foundation with the EcoTools Bronzer Brush for an airbrush finish or the Beauty Blender for a lighter finish.

My only gripe with it is that because it is so long wearing and pigmented, it looks horrible in pictures. In pictures, especially with flash, it looks like I am wearing a mask that lightens my face, even though it does not feel like a mask on my face. However, this is a small price to pay because I have yet to find another foundation that wears as long or is as pigmented.

 If those who are hesitant to jump the gun on a $40+ foundation (trust me, it is worth it), I find that Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation is a pretty good drugstore dupe for less than $10. It does not last as long nor is it as pigmented but for ¼ of the price, I sure don’t mind having to apply a little more concealer or blot with powder through out the day.

2 thoughts on “Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

Leave a Reply

