Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Sunscreen Makeup

Image

I have wanted to try out this product for a while because it went through a bit of a hypefest in the beauty community. Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation is the product of interest and these are my thoughts on it.

So this foundation is known for being a light weight, water based foundation. These sentiments are true as the foundation is pretty light on the skin and feels like nothing. The title of “Ultra-Light” is certainly fitting, However, this also translates to very little coverage, where the title of “Skin Perfecting” seems less than fitting. For my oily acne-prone skin, I need at least medium coverage so that I can use less concealer, thus, resulting in a less cakey face. I noticed that this foundation was marketed as being buildable where the light coverage could be turned into medium coverage with a second layer. I did not find this to be true and buildable coverage is not something that this foundation achieved for me. This foundation lasted 2-3 hours on me before showing shine, which is pretty much the bare minimum I expect any face product to last on me.

I guess when those were saying that it was a great foundation for ALL skin types including dry, normal and oily, I should have been skeptical. These very different skin types obviously require their foundations to do very different things. For me, I need a foundation to offer at least medium coverage and handle my oils. Perhaps, I will pull it out during the winter season to see how it works with my more dry (but still oily, ugh) skin.

This foundation did not work for me but maybe it will for those with dry to normal skin that prefer light coverage. It did not wow me but of course, the foundation battle is not the same for everyone and fortunately, because the makeup world would be quite boring if the same products worked for everyone. Don’t you think?

Image

2 thoughts on “Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Sunscreen Makeup

Leave a Reply

