MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Rouge in 16 Fuchsia

Image

What better way to start my first official post than with my current (but probably also my forever) favourite lipstick? That is a trick question because there is no better way! MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Rouge in 16 Fuchsia is a super matte, bright pink. It is the perfect mix between hot pink & fuchsia and it is probably one of my favourite colours to wear. It is a long-wearing lip product so it really seals and locks onto the lips. It does come with a clear gloss top-coat but I prefer wearing the colour itself for the perfect matte finish. In order to get the most precise looking lip, I line my lips with MAC Lip Pencil in Embrace Me (sadly, limited edition) but any bright fuchsia lip pencil should work. I do not fill in my whole lip so that the Aqua Rouge has a chance to really stick to my bare lips.

Β I have been wearing it for long traveling days and long school days. I even wore it for an overnight layover without having to touch up. It does not budge so I never have to worry about checking on it or reapplying. It is a little tough to take off at the end of the day but this is a small price to pay for it to last as long as it does.

Β Image

However, for a lip product to have such awesome staying power, something has got to give. In this case, the longwearing nature of this lip colour equals to a lack of moisture on the lips. The super matte finish leaves little hydration on the lips. There is a topcoat, which can be applied for some moisture, but of course, it gets rid of the matte texture. I adore matte lipsticks so I am willing to deal with this and my lips do well with dry textures so I have lucked out in this department. It is as if I was meant to be a lipstick addict.

Β It is a pricey $29 CDN at Sephora but a little goes a long way so it will last you forever. Also, it seems to be the matte-est lipstick formula that I have tried so it has my heart in that area. I purchased 11 Dark Raspberry to wear for the fall season and I cannot wait to bust it out with an all black outfit.

Leave a Reply

