My September 2013 Favourites

Image

As September is coming to an end, I thought I would share some of my favourites for the month. At the beginning of the month, I traveled to Texas for my cousin’s wedding. I was only going for 5 days so a carry-on bag made the most sense. However, this meant that I had to downsize and only bring the bare minimum. This led, or rather forced, me to pack only my essential, trust-worthy, cannot do without products. The test of makeup time I like to refer to it as.

 Image

The two stand out items that carried me through that trip and the rest of the month were Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup and Dollywink Liquid Eyeliner. The foundation by Estee Lauder is the original cult-classic, Double Wear’s, lighter, fresher counterpart. I also have the original Double Wear and I have to say that the Light version does a great job at providing the same coverage and wear as the original, just without the heavy feeling and bulky packaging. Double Wear Light is easier to travel with as it comes in a plastic squeeze tube. I have quite an extensive foundation collection and I can safely say that this one ranks somewhere in the top 5 of my all time favourites. It is a trusty go-to and the perfect traveling companion. The liquid eyeliner by Dollywink is my top eyeliner pick and trust me, I have tried many others. It is the most pigmented, precise, smoothest and longwearing eyeliner I have ever used and the praise it receives in the beauty community is well warranted. I have been using it almost daily for the last year and it is still going strong. My brother picked up this one for me when he was in Japan last year and I seriously don’t know how I lived without it in all my eyeliner-wearing years. In Vancouver, it is available at many of the Asian beauty stores in Richmond and I have specifically seen it at Aberdeen Mall. Good thing it is available here because I can’t imagine a makeup day without it.

 Image

I have been wearing the heck out of my MAC Ruby Woo Lipstick. An oldie but certainly a goodie. I pair it with MAC Cherry Lip Pencil for the ultimate, precise and super longwearing red lip. The Retro Matte finish fulfills all of my matte lipstick makeup dreams and allows my lips to look like red velvet goodness. On a related note, thank you MAC for your new Retro Matte collection, it is as if the makeup gods read my mind and created a collection just to fulfill my hopes and desires for lipstick in this world. I wore this for the wedding and for the 12+ hour day, I only had to touch up once after dinner. This stuff really is what red lipstick dreams are made of.

Image

Moving onto some skincare favourites, I have to give a shout out to two products that have helped save my skin from the drying effects brought upon by moisture-sucking flights and transitional weather. I traveled to San Francisco in August and these two products also helped during that trip. Everyone is aware that the air on planes is recycled and not normal (that is the best term that I could come up with to describe the gross air on planes). Every time I come home from traveling, I end up with dry, dehydrated skin that needs some serious TLC. Enter Indeed Labs Hydraluron Serum and Clinique Moisture Surge Intense. I apply Hydraluron all over, then the Clinique moisturizer on top and wake up with glowing, nourished skin. Hydraluron “increases skin hydration from below the surface with an ultra-high-quality hyaluronic acid that holds up to 1,000 times its weight in water.” I am not sure about the science behind it but I can vouch for its abilities. I have repurchased the regular Clinique Moisture Surge twice and I also enjoy it. The Intense version is a sample I got with a gift-with-purchase and it is serving me well for the colder months. Winter, my skin is ready for you!

Image

Swatches: Dollywink Liquid Eyeliner, MAC Cherry Lip Pencil, MAC Ruby Woo Lipstick

Leave a Reply

