My Drugstore Favourites #1

Image

As a makeup addict, I am no stranger to the drugstore makeup aisles. I have had my fair share of trials with drugstore makeup and frankly, many of the results have been successful. The drugstore brands have stepped up their game and are releasing some really great, standout products. In no particular order, this is a list of some of my favourites.

Β My first pick is Rimmel Stay Matte Powder. I have it in the shade Translucent and it is the best no-frills powder I have tried. It keeps me matte for a fairly good amount of time and never looks powdery (even when I am suffering from patchy, dry skin). It even photographs well. It is a product I have been using for ages and will continue to repurchase. I do have one gripe about it and that is its packaging. Whenever I travel with this powder, I have to make sure to place a rubber band around it to make sure the lid does not come off and make a mess. It also does not come with a mirror, which does not help with making touch ups any easier.

Image

My second pick is an absolute staple in my makeup routine and it is Maybelline Define-A-Brow in Medium Brown. It is the most perfect eyebrow pencil for my hair colour. I prefer a lighter colour than my actual hair colour (dark brown) because I think it looks less harsh. The colour is perfect and the fine point tip makes it easy to draw hair-like lines. I do wish that it lasted a little longer on my brows but I think that is what help makes it look natural. I have repurchased this one 10+ times, no joke. I stock up when my local drugstore has Maybelline on for 3-for-2. However this also means that the product does not last very long and although it maybe drugstore, it may not be the most cost-friendly. However, just watch out for drugstore sales and it works out.

Image

Β My third pick are the NYX Soft Matte Lipcreams. I have nothing but great things to say about this wonderful product. The formula is like a hybrid of a matte cream and a whipped mousse. It results in the most prefect matte but not stiff-looking lip. As a matte lipstick lover, it is perfect for days where I want a matte look but cannot deal with heavy matte textures. I have it in the colours Antwerp, San Paulo and Stockholm .

Image

Swatches: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in San Paulo, Antwerp and Stockholm

These are not my only drugstore favourites, but a list of a few. I feel that having three mini reviews in one blog post is a good amount because if I included anymore, it would result in an essay (knowing me and my rambling). I hope to have this as an on-going blog column so stay tuned for my next one!

4 Comments

    1. Oh no. That was the situation here in Vancouver too before it started popping up in some local drugstores. I recommend http://www.cherryculture.com for buying NYX online, they frequently have really good sales and they pretty much carry everything in the NYX line (while most drugstores do not). I hope you can try some of their awesome products soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

