My January 2014 Favourites

Image

I missed out on a favourites post for December but I am now back full force for January! Along with some beauty favourites, I have thrown in some fashion favourites. I am still trying to incorporate some fashion into this blog but it is hard because I have yet to figure out how to take pictures while being in front of the camera. I have a tripod but no remote and no photographer. My sister refuses to help me out so maybe publicly shaming her online will work. Anyways, that is a different story for a different day so let’s continue on with my favourites of the month.

Image

Some complexion favourites I have been absolutely loving: MAC Studio Fix Fluid, Vichy Dermablend Corrective Foundation Stick, NARS Light Reflecting Loose Setting Powder and MAC Warmth Of Coral Mineralize Blush. The MAC foundation is a long time favourite like a loyal friend, it never lets me down. This foundation works best with a big buffing brush like the EcoTools Bronzer Brush to avoid a thick finish, while still providing great coverage. Vichy Dermablend has been raved about in the beauty community and for good reason. The coverage of this foundation stick is intense so I have been using it as a concealer instead. As a concealer, it is great for blemishes and covering hyper-pigmentation. The NARS Powder is a great light powder for achieving a flawless complexion. Its light reflecting abilities does a great job at making the skin look glowy and pores look diffused, I was always hesitant about the abilities of powders to do such a job but I am now a believer! The MAC blush is unfortunately, a limited edition item from the MAC Semi-Precious collection. I found it at a CCO though so it may be floating around out there somewhere! It is the most perfect peach-orange blush without looking like too much. It packs pigment without being a chore to apply.

Image

As for eyes and lips, NARS Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base, Essence Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner and Clarins Rose Shimmer Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector are the products that I have been reaching for this month. The NARS eyeshadow base is a recent discovery and something that I can already call my HG. I have tried a couple other bases but this one blows them all out of the water. I like to refer to it as the boss of all eyeshadow bases and primers because it really does leave everything looking ***flawless (see what I did there?). A serious life-changing product and I do not say that about many things. The Essence eyeliner has already been discussed in a post but let me sum it up in three words: matte black goodness. The Clarins balm/gloss is the most perfect product for lazy days as it provides colour and hydration without the fuss and stickiness of a traditional lipgloss. The packaging is so chic and the most perfect handbag companion.

Image

Swatches: Essence Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner, Clarins Rose Shimmer Instant Natural Light Lip Perfector , MAC Warmth Of Coral Mineralize Blush

Image

Fashion favourites this month include a bronze/silver/gold (anyone else REALLY excited for the Olympics?) statement necklace from Urban Outfitters and a black over sized long-sleeve crop top by Wilfred Free at Aritzia. Paired together with some high-waist black trousers to show just a bit of midriff and you get an effortless but totally cool look. I have a couple other crop tops like these and I am pretty sure they will become my go-to uniform as they work so well with EVERYTHING. I cannot wait until the weather warms up to wear them with some high-waist denim cut offs because I love the juxtaposition between a modest long-sleeve on top and short bottoms (or a high neckline and short bottoms).

Image

10 Comments

  1. I really love the tray you used to display the products! I’ve been wanting to try the NARS eyeshadow base for a while now, I’ll definitely have to pick it up next time I’m in Space NK. & I got the ***flawless reference (my fave song on the album, amazing!).

    Charlotte Breony xx

    Reply

    1. Thanks, Charlotte. Can you believe that tray was only $1 from the dollar store? Such a steal! I hope you enjoy the primer, I cannot sing its praises enough. YAY at you understanding my reference. Beyonce is queen.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

