My Drugstore Favourites #5

Image

Here we go, another round of drugstore favourites! Today’s post features an amazing concealer that has been my current go-to, a refreshing glossy balm and the greatly spoken about matte balms.

The Maybelline Fit Me Concealer was a random discovery during a drugstore visit. All Maybelline face products were on sale for $5.99 at my local drugstore and I randomly decided to purchase this concealer to try out. I very rarely buy products (especially those that can’t be returned once opened eg. drugstore items) without first reading reviews but I guess I was feeling spontaneous #livingontheedge. This is a great medium-coverage concealer that blends flawlessly and works extremely well for blemishes. This is one of my favourites for using before powder foundation because of its thinness, which helps to prevent any cakey cream/powder buildup. I apply it with the doe-foot applicator on parts of my face that need concealing and blend it in with a buffing brush before applying powder foundation. During the Sephora VIB Sale, I purchased the NARS Creamy Concealer after hearing many wonderful things but quickly returned it because this one by Maybelline is extremely similar at a serious fraction of the price.

Almay Colour + Care Liquid Lip Balm is a great product to provide a bit of colour, some moisture and a lot of glossiness. The effect is serious shine, without being sticky while feeling like a lipbalm. This shade in particular reminds me a lot of the Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfectors, which I love. I have yet to try some of the darker shades but a quick Google shade leads me to believe that they may be a bit more pigmented than ones from the Clarins line. All in all, a great product that seems to be underrated in the beauty world.

You have probably heard enough about the Revlon Colourburst Matte Balms because they have taken over and essentially dominated the drugstore. Revlon, once again, has killed it in the lipstick category by offering a readily available matte lip crayon. Many high-end brands have offered similar products (NARS, Tarte, Bite Beauty) but this seems to be one of the only drugstore versions. Matte lip products in bright bold colours at a drugstore price? Sign me up! These matte balms by Revlon are very pigmented and offer opaque colour coverage in a single swipe. They are comfortable to wear but a little creamy so I find that a lip pencil needs to be used to avoid feathering. If they were a little more dry, they would rank as high as my NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil favourites, but with a little powder and blotting, they do the trick!

Image

Swatches from the top: Revlon Matte Balm in Complex and Unapologetic, Almay Liquid Lip Balm in Cantaloupe, Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Light and Sand

Leave a Reply

