On My Face #2

Image

Here is my second FOTD post, the first from way back in October. I am trying to do these sorts of posts more often as I learn to sort out the macro function on my camera. It is incredibly difficult to take detailed pictures of my makeup but I think I have been slowly figuring it out. Hooray for gradually developing camera skills!

A standard look of mine, including some old favourites, some new gems and the Kylie Jenner inspired nude lip look that I cannot stop wearing.

Image

Face
– Bourjois Happy Light Matte Serum Primer
– MAC Face and Body Foundation in C3
– Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Light
– Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer
– Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed Powder in Light (not pictured)
– Benefit Hoola Bronzing Powder
– MAC Cantaloupe Blush

Eyes
– The Face Shop Design My Eyebrow in Dark Brown
– Smashbox 24 Hour Photo Finish Shadow Primer
– Josie Maran Coconut Watercolour Eye Shadow in Beach Sand
– Stila Portrait Of A Perfect Eye Palette (specifically, the shade Parchment, a dark matte brown)
– Essence Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner
– Maybelline The Rocket Volumโ€™ Express Mascara
– CoverGirl Clump Crusher Waterproof Mascara

Lips
– Lypsyl Original Lip Balm
– MAC Spice Lip Pencil
– MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick

Image

The Bourjois primer is a recent addition to my collection and so far, I have been really enjoying it. I find that most matte primers either pill up on the skin, or cause foundation to apply very unevenly. Not this one, as it provides a matte finish but is not fussy. MAC Face and Body is an old classic and although I have oily skin, it is still a great foundation for short and non-fuss makeup days. I just make sure to wear a primer and set it with a good powder! I have been applying it with my hands (something I usually HATE to do) because of the very unique texture. It is a very liquidy foundation, but the warmth from my hands causes it to become a little thicker while still remaining easy to blend and apply. I do make sure to smooth and blend everything out with my Beauty Blender afterwards to avoid any streaks that my hands might have caused. The concealers and Hoola Bronzer are old favourites. MAC Cantaloupe is a recent re-discovery, as I have been pulling out my MAC Blush palette and seriously falling back in love with some old favourites.

For my eyebrows, this $4 eyebrow pencil from The Face Shop has been amazing. The triangle-esque tip reminds me of the Hourglass Brow Arch Sculpting Pencil but at a seriously discounted price. This eyebrow pencil may be replacing my old favourite of Maybelline Define-A-Brow. On my eyes, I have been using this Smashbox Primer, which I received FREE from Sephora as a Fan Friday perk. Make sure to โ€œLikeโ€ them on Facebook so you donโ€™t miss out on deals like this! This primer is fantastic and may even rival my love for the NARS Eyeshadow Primer. It seems to make my eyeshadows last just a tad longer without creasing but I may have to do a side-by-side comparison to really see. I used the Josie Maran Shadow all over my lids and applied a matte brown in the crease. Stay tuned for a more detailed review of the Josie Maran Coconut Watercolour Eye Shadows but in shortโ€ฆ I LOVE THEM! You have probably heard enough from me about the Essence Liquid Eyeliner and the CoverGirl Clump Crusher Mascara so I will spare you the repeat. The Maybelline Rocket Mascara is just something I have been trying to use up, as it is not really anything special. However, that is purely my fault for straying from waterproof mascaras.

Finally, on to the good part. Everyone and their mother has been dying to find out Kylie Jennerโ€™s lip colour. You know, the ones in her famous Instagram selfies. Although she has never confirmed the colour, I have been able to recreate the looks with many different products in my collection. Kylie wears a variety of nude lip colours but they all seem to have a common theme of being matte, very precisely lined and in brown/maroon tones. The lip combo I wore today reminds me a lot of this one by Kylie. Ever since Kylie popularized these kinds of lip colours, I have not been able to stop wearing them. As a bold lip lover, I would have to say that it has been pretty revolutionary to my regular lipstick habits.

Image

If I can’t look like Kylie, can I at least learn to do my makeup as well as her (or frankly, her makeup artist)? Can I also master the art of the selfie as well as she has? Haha!

Leave a Reply

