My June 2014 Favourites

DSC_0954

First and foremost, happy (belated) birthday to the wonderful country of Canada I so luckily get to call home!

A monthly favourites post actually on time? Hallelujah! On another note, I cannot believe that it is already July. I refuse to believe that summer will be over in just two months. With a condensed course out of the way, I may actually be able to enjoy the rest of the summer. A sentiment that is highly doubtful though because my other two courses are insane upper-levels and sucking the life right out of me. Nonetheless, I am thankful for school and I know I will miss it once it is over. Now letโ€™s get on with this favourites post!

DSC_0955

This month, I thought I would include my fragrance favourite of DKNY Golden Delicious. It is a great one for the summer, as it is a light and fruity, but not overpowering, scent. I am a little picky about fragrances and often get sick of scents before the end of the day but this one wears very nicely through out the day. Sephora tells me its notes are, โ€œOrange Flower Water, Mirabelle, Golden Delicious Apple, White Rose, Casablanca Lily, Vanilla Orchid, Muguet, Musk, Sandalwood, Teakwoodโ€ and although I do not know what half the items on that list are, the blend of it all is lovely.

Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation is an amazing foundation, period. It is a liquid foundation that feels powdery and very smooth when applied. It blends AMAZINGLY and in a way that I have never experienced with any other product before. While it provides a good medium coverage, its light weight powder finish allows it to still feel very natural. For the summer, that is really all I ask for. Good coverage, feels natural and wears for a decent amount of time? This foundation by Hourglass ticks all the right boxes.

This month, I picked up Lโ€™Oreal Telescopic Waterproof Mascara after wanting to try it out for ages and finally seeing it on sale at the drugstore. When I initially got into makeup, I remember the original Telescopic being one of my first mascaras. The thin brush is ideal for mascara beginners as it allows for mess-free application. Even though I like to think that my makeup skills have improved since then, the benefit of a skinny, tiny brush is still helpful. The waterproof formula is a nice one which helps to hold a curl and define the lashes just enough to provide length and volume. The small plastic uniform bristles majorly help with reducing clumps but it may be TOO good at getting rid of clumps, as I sometimes prefer a bit of clumping for added volume. My thin lashes need the clumps sometimes! WOW CAN I SAY THE WORD CLUMP AGAIN?

When I first bought MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Brow in Ash, I struggled greatly with the product in terms of how to apply it and make it look natural. A couple weeks back, I needed waterproof products for a day out at the beach and I knew that I had to pull out Aqua Brow. Since then, I have been on an Aqua Brow kick, especially since I have figured out the perfect way to apply it. I am currently working on an eyebrow post so keep an eye out for that but the key points: a semi-stiff angled brush, a good spoolie and a small pot to squeeze the product into.

If you are a beauty lover on Instagram, there is no doubt that you have heard about the lipstick line, Melt Cosmetics. The line was started by makeup artists Lora Arellano (who works with Rihanna) and Dona Bomar and features unique, bright and bold lip colours in very matte textures. I love a good matte lipstick and these are some of the most matte formulas that I have ever tried, and trust me, I have tried my fair share. The shade Belladonna 2 has been my current lipstick love because of its perfect mix of red and pink. It is the shade I reach for when I crave a red lip, but prefer a not so classic version of it. This lipstick lasts for-freaking-ever and leaves behind an insane stain, even with the use of a heavy-duty oil makeup remover. Even the stain left behind can be considered a lip product in and of itself which really shows how well it stains and lasts!

The MAC Alluring Aquatic Collection was highly raved about when it first debuted. Even with all the hype, I was able to hit up a counter the day after it was released to get my hands on the products I had my eye on. That is one of the only good things about being a makeup addict here in Canada, as products just do not sell out as fast. Anyways, I picked up a lipstick in the shade Enchanted One, as it fulfills the requirement for what I currently look for when discussing nude lipsticks. Matte, brown toned and with Kylie Jenner lipstick resemblance? Sign me up! I do have to admit that this colour is nothing revolutionary or special but I get to have one of my favourite lip colours in a gorgeous tube, which really ainโ€™t too shabby!

DSC_0964

Swatches: MAC Enchanted One Lipstick, Melt Cosmetics Belladonna 2 Lipstick

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

