Liquid Lipstick For Beginners

DSC_0201

I love a good liquid lipstick, but I know that they are a product that requires a bit of work and practice to master. Liquid lipsticks can be quite finicky to use and they are often not something that I would recommend for those just starting out with lip products. However, the matte finishes of most liquid lipsticks are to die for and should be enjoyed by all makeup enthusiasts. These are my picks of liquid lipsticks for beginners that are a little easier to work with and require less effort to achieve the desirable matte liquid lipstick finish.

DSC_0205

The NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams are a great product because, as the name suggests, they are a soft matte finish. In my experience, these are creamy and easy to work with and dry down to a comfortable matte finish. With some of these lip creams, the need for a lip pencil is not even required because of their soft cream texture. It may be a little more difficult to achieve a defined, bold lip line but the consequence is that the product is generally easier to work with and wear. I get from 3-5 hours of wear from the NYX Lip Creams, nowhere as long as some of the thicker liquid lipsticks that I love, but nonetheless, a small setback for a product that can easily be reapplied.

DSC_0203

When the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvets were first introduced, I was desperate to get my grubby little hands on them. Good thing Canadians have some access to European brands because as soon as these were available at Shoppers Drug Mart, I snatched them up! These Rouge Edition Velvets are a lot thinner than the NYX Lip Creams so they feel a bit more light weight. However, their thinness also means that the formula is a little less opaque. I like to apply the Rouge Edition Velvets in two coats, letting the layers dry in between. Compared to the NYX Lip Creams, these ones wear down really nicely and leave behind a nice stain.

DSC_0209

Swatches: Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in Personne Ne Rouge! & Frambourjoise, NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Amsterdam & San Paulo

I am an intense liquid lipstick formula lover (MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Rouge and Stila Stay All Day are my favourites) but I can still appreciate a good no-frills liquid lipstick, especially for low-key lip days. You know you have a lip product problem when you classify liquid lipsticks as being appropriate for low-key days… But what can I say? One of my life goals is to have strong lip game all the damn time and liquid lipsticks allow me to do so!

2 Comments

    1. NYX was not available for us in Canada until recently. As they expand, I’m sure they’ll make it to India very soon. I hope so because NYX is amazing and everyone needs to try their stuff out!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

