#30blush Instagram Round Up

IMG_0919

I finished my #30blush challenge a week ago and thought it might be interesting to whip up a blog post about the process. To sum up the pretty basic challenge, I had to wear a different blush for 30 days in an effort to explore my collection and refrain from repeatedly using the same ones.

At first, I wanted to start because I thought it would be a fun challenge to conduct on my then-new Instagram. I also thought it would be a good way for me to go through my blush challenge and give some attention to some neglected blushes. In the end, I was able to do just that and also go through the rest of my makeup stash. Because I was forced to document my blush of the day, I also thought I would incorporate other parts of my face of the day. I didn’t want to repeat the same products day after day so I was β€˜forced’ to shop my stash and re-discover some old products. In addition, I was able to go through and purge some items that are unloved in my collection. My blush wish list has expanded ever since exploring the #30blush tag on a daily basis so I have no doubt that the money from selling my old blushes will go to good use.

DSC_0803

Throughout the 30 days, there were some blushes that stuck out to me more than others. Some were favourites from the beginning and blushes that I had to explicitly stop myself from using again within the 30 days. Some were re-discoveries that I knew I had previously enjoyed, but were forgotten as my blush collection grew. In no particular order, here are my top 5 favourite blushes from my #30blush challenge:

1. Burberry Tangerine
2. Dior My Lady 003
3. Physicians Formula Argan Wear Natural
4. MAC Bad Girl Gone Good
5. NAS Luster

Can you see that I have a pretty defined blush type? Haha. I generally stick to neutral blushes that lean towards the warm/coral side. After discovering my type, it has been a lot easier to let go of products that just don’t work for me. I find that bright pink/red blushes, as well as overly cool blushes, do not suit my warm skin-tone and emphasize redness that I never knew I had. I used to consider myself a blush fanatic, although I have since moved onto lip products. Regardless, I had a big collection to begin with and this challenge was a great way for me to go through my stash and take a closer look at what I had… #makeupaddictproblems.

2 Comments

    1. I guess Tangerine does look a bit darker than usual, although I found that Earthy was too pale for me when I swatched it. Nonetheless, Burberry blushes are amazing and I’m hoping to add more to my collection! Thanks for stopping by, Annie!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

