Chanel and Dior Spring 2015: My Picks

DSC_0808

Today’s post features a small haul of new products from the Chanel and Dior Spring 2015 Beauty Collections. I tried to not go crazy which, as proven in the past, can be an occurrence for me when it comes to special collections. When it comes to high-end makeup, I can easily say that Chanel and Dior are some of my favourite designer makeup brands. As a Canadian with limited access to many other high-end brands, I like that Chanel and Dior can be found in-store and do not require me to either go on a scavenger hunt or deal with shipping/taxes/customs/duties fees online. The life of a makeup addict here in Canada is tough but with access to Chanel and Dior, I think I’ll be just fine.

 DSC_0816

Chanel Rouge Double Intensite in Coral Dream (top) and Darling Pink (bottom)

As a liquid lipstick junkie, I knew I eventually wanted to try out Chanel’s Rouge Double Intensite formula. However, the colours from the permanent line left a lot to be desired and many of them were frosty, unappealing shades of brown and pink. I understand that Chanel’s image is more mature and refined but when it comes to colour development, it would be nice for them to experiment with brighter and deeper shades (especially when they show that it is possible in the Rouge Allure Velvet formula). And they FINALLY did in this collection! The two colours from the Reverie Parisienne Spring 2015 Collection are seasonally appropriate, different from the others in the line and just perfect variations of an easy pink and coral lip! I was highly impressed by the colours released in this collection and I knew that they would be a hit with many others. It was love at first swatch, to say the least!

I have only tested out Darling Pink but if my experience from this shade translates to others in the line, I am a fan. When it comes to 2-step liquid lipstick formulas, I often ditch the clear topcoat and opt to wear the lone colour for an ultra matte finish. I employed this technique for the Rouge Double Intensite formula and experienced great results. The colour was pigmented and the light shade was easy to work with, although I did use a lip pencil for ultimate precision. The formula dried in a couple of seconds and through out the day, never felt drying or tight. It wore well, even when freshened up later on in the day with a regular lip balm. The colour faded evenly, probably helped by the fact that it was neither a bright or deep colour. The only complaint I had with this particular shade was that as the colour faded through out the day, I started noticing shimmer bits on my lips. In the tube, the shimmers are there but they are not very apparent and I guess I just didn’t think it would translate on to my lips because it didn’t during the initial application.

Unfortunately, I was not able to get my hands on the highly coveted Blush Camelia Rose but I think I’ll get over it. I’m pretty sure I’ll get more wear out of these lip products than I ever would have with the blush so it was probably a blessing in disguise.

DSC_0809

  Dior Kingdom Of Colours DiorBlush in Peach Splendor

Although I do love Dior, their Spring 2015 collection was a little lackluster. Sad for my makeup collecting tendencies but fantastic for my bank account, haha! However, the Peach Splendor DiorBlush did speak to my ‘special embossing’ & ‘limited edition’ makeup needs AND it was in the realm blush colours I usually gravitate towards (peach/coral/shimmery) so I brought it home with me. In the words of Michael Scott, it was a win-win-win, even though I’m the only party winning here haha. I have not tried out the blush yet but I have been impressed by Dior blushes in the past so I have no doubts about Peach Splendor’s blushing abilities. I’m a little weird about using special products (so sorry for the lack of swatches) and often leave them tucked in their boxes until I work up the courage months later to mess them up. It’s a habit that I have been working on breaking because good products should be enjoyed!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

