My January 2015 Favourites

DSC_0819

My first favourites post for 2015 features some fantastic products (of course as they are favourites for a reason) that I have really enjoyed for the month, along with one television show pick! Alongside makeup, tv shows are another of my loved hobbies and I thought it might be interesting to showcase a show that I have been enjoying recently.

DSC_0823

Urban Decay Naked Basics 2 Eyeshadow Palette
NARS Himalia Dual-Intensity Eyeshadow
Stila Stingray Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner
Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara

I held back on purchasing the Urban Decay Naked Basics 2 Eyeshadow Palette when it was first released because I was getting a little overwhelmed by my abundance of eyeshadow palettes and my lack in using them. However, as weird as it sounds, I feel like I’ve been going through a bit of a makeup renaissance and really getting into eyeshadow. As a makeup lover, I feel like it was an area that I was really neglecting. How could I call myself a beauty junkie and neglect one of the biggest areas in the field?! I have always loved foundations and lipsticks but my love for eyeshadow only recently developed. A lot of it had to do with my growth in makeup application as I started to develop some skills in applying shadows and figuring out eye looks that suited me. With this growth in experience, I was able to experiment with different eyeshadows. I’m still a neutral girl at heart but now I have fun with different variations of shimmer, glitter and mattes. UD Naked Basics 2 has been a staple in January because it pairs so well with many of my single eyeshadows. I have especially been wearing it a lot with NARS Himalia Dual-Intensity Eyeshadow. These Dual-Intensity Eyeshadows make me speechless because they are just so darn stunning. The shade Himalia is a medium brown/taupe and it pairs so well with the matte shades from the Naked Basics 2 Palette. They’re pretty much a match made in eyeshadow heaven!

Stila Stingray Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner was a product that I’ve had in my collection for a while. I’m not really a pencil eyeliner kind of gal, mostly for the fact that they do not hold up against my oily eyelids. I usually line my waterline with a brush and gel eyeliner but I randomly decided to try the Stila on my waterline. I don’t mind using a brush but I thought that whatever the chance that the pencil worked that it would be an easier alternative. I had low expectations so I was highly amazed that the pencil actually stayed on my waterline (both upper and lower) and I haven’t looked back since. I already included Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara in my 2014 Favourites but I thought it deserved to be mentioned again here. I discovered this mascara back in December and it rocked my world. I usually have pretty good luck with drugstore waterproof mascaras but this one blew my expectations right out of the water. It’s a great mascara for volumizing, lengthening and holding a curl. The wand brush makes it easy to apply and really comb through my lashes. The formula is not too watery or too dry and it is much easier to remove than many other waterproof mascaras. The packaging is fantastic and the dusty pink is a sight for sore eyes among other tacky mascara tubes at the drugstore.

DSC_0826

MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

I enjoy many MAC base products and my feelings for their Matchmaster Foundation are no different. The Matchmaster Foundation offers medium coverage with a satin finish. It claims to adjust to your skintone, which helps to explain the limited shade range. I wear it in Shade 2.0 and I find that it matches my NC25-27 skin pretty well. I like this foundation because it feels light on the skin and manages to last for a good period of time on my face, even though it is not advertised as being long wearing. It controls oil decently and has been working really well for my winter not-as-oily skin. I mean, my skin is still oily but it tends to not be as crazy in the colder weather. It’s a pretty great no-frills foundation that I have been enjoying for everyday wear.

DSC_0825

OPI Black Onyx Nail Polish

My sister is a black nail polish junkie and for the longest time, was begging me to purchase a true black polish. We share nail polish collections (even though I do most of the purchasing and she just does most of the using/mooching) and our previous black polish, OPI Suzi Skis In The Pyrenees, was a little bit of a dud. It was a grey black and only opaque after a good 3 coats. We wanted something more opaque and easier to work with and Black Onyx seemed like a good contender. I often overlook shades from OPI’s standard line because their collections are always so much more fun. However, I needed a classic black and I figured something from the core collection would be promising. And I was correct! Black Onyx is a great basic black in an amazing one-coat-for-opaqueness formula. The consistency is perfect and has made it so much more enjoyable to use black nail polish. If only all OPI polishes came in the same formula. No doubt this will be getting a lot of wear in the future!

bv_ez6ucaaebsmn-large

Jane The Virgin
(Image credit)

To give you an idea of my television taste, here’s a list of my top 5 favourite shows at the moment:
1. The Office
2. Breaking Bad
3. Friday Night Lights
4. Six Feet Under
5. Shameless (US)

The list always changes as I discover new shows and move around the rankings but my top 3 spots are pretty anchored. I like to think that I have a pretty extensive taste in television shows so I’m pretty open to trying out different shows in different genres. I give many shows a chance, which however, means that I devote a lot of time to television. In December, I marathoned Jane The Virgin and completely FELL IN LOVE with the show. It’s a show on The CW based on a real telenovela (Wikipedia synopsis here) with just the perfect amount of heart and cheekiness. The show started up again in January and needless to say, I have fallen back in love. I love Queen Gina Rodriguez (the actress who plays Jane) so it’s been great having her back on my TV. Jane The Virgin has been getting a lot of love in the entertainment world after Gina Rodriguez won a Golden Globe for her role on the show and I hope it gets even more love from others to boost ratings! I tend to get emotionally attached to actors and their roles so I have no shame in admitting that I straight up bawled when watching Gina’s acceptance speech (link here). Yep, I just rewatched it and teared up.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

