Current Mascara Rotation

DSC_0790

As a drugstore mascara junkie, I’m always on the hunt for the latest and greatest in the aisles of the drugstore. I consider myself a non-makeup snob in regards to the fact that I’m open to trying out all different brands, regardless of price range. Life is too short to restrict my makeup hoarding criteria, haha! I’m incredibly lucky that I have the opportunity to try out makeup from both ends of the spectrum so I make it a point to hold back bias on products regardless of price.

However, when it comes to mascaras, I’m a bit of a non-makeup snob. Now you’re probably wondering what the heck that even means. Basically, I pretty much restrict myself from buying high-end mascaras because I know that drugstore mascaras work perfectly fine for me. When it comes to makeup, I’m always about trying out new things and searching for new products to love but when it comes to mascaras, the only search I do is at the drugstore. I have tried more expensive mascaras before and I don’t find the results satisfactory enough to warrant their higher price tag. In the end, I rather spend the money on more interesting makeup goodies.

DSC_0778

I rotate through many different mascaras at a time because I am always trying out new ones. I like that my rotation is mostly of those from the drugstore so I don’t have to worry too much about their high turnover rate. If you have read my blog before, you know that I am a huge fan of waterproof mascara. In fact, it’s pretty much the only kind of mascara that I use. I need waterproof formulas because they help my stubborn pin-straight lashes hold a curl. Alongside, waterproof mascaras have the added benefit of not smudging and flaking off. I know that they can be a bit disapproved by others because of their hard-to-remove factor but a good makeup remover is the solution to that problem. Waterproof mascaras and a good waterproof eye makeup remover pretty much need to come hand in hand and you already know about my love for the Clarins Instant Eye Makeup Remover and The Body Shop Camomile Waterproof Makeup Remover.

DSC_0781

Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara was a feature in my top products of 2014 post and it still holds the number one spot in my favourite mascara rankings. This mascara does a wonderful job at volumizing my lashes without creating clumps (I don’t even mind a clump if it helps with volumizing but this mascara does so without clumping) and it holds a curl like no other. It also helps with lengthening but I prefer it more because of its volumizing factor. The comb scoop brush allows me to really get to the root of my lashes and it also helps with keeping the mascara on my lashes and not all over my lid. The adorable dusty pink packaging makes it all the more appealing amongst its tacky drugstore mascara counterparts.

DSC_0784

Can you tell that I’m a fan of Maybelline mascaras? Maybelline Full N’ Soft Waterproof Mascara is a US-exclusive mascara that I picked up last year when I visited California. I only opened it up to use a month or so ago and have seriously felt the need to kick myself for not discovering it sooner. This mascara manages to provide volume (not so much length) while still making my lashes look soft and fluttery. Seriously, the name is truly accurate and not a huge marketing gimmick. My lashes look and feel completely different to other mascaras that I have found EVEN in the waterproof formula. The soft formula also makes it much easier to remove than other waterproof mascaras. The brush features many packed bristles that manage to grab onto every lash and make it look like I’m wearing falsies. While the formula is soft, the impact is truly powerful!

DSC_0783

This is probably my third or fourth tube of Covergirl Clump Crusher Waterproof Mascara. When I first tried this mascara, I hated it. It did nothing for me and the waterproof formula basically repelled my lashes into pointing down. However, I thought that the small and streamlined comb brush would work well on my bottom lashes and I was right! This mascara is a freakin’ powerhouse for my bottom lashes. The comb brush helps with very precise application and avoiding mascara all over my lashline. The formula really pumps my lashes up so that they go from non-existent to falsifiable (or at least my sister thought so) and the waterproof formula makes sure that I don’t ever end up with panda eyes at the end of the day. I will be using this mascara and singing its praises until the day I die!

DSC_0782

I know I stated previously that I don’t purchase high-end mascaras. However, this is one that I would ever really consider purchasing in the full-size (I have once) but I don ‘t need to because I now gather it through deluxe sample perks or as gift-with-purchases. Lancome Hypnose Drama Mascara and its regular Hypnose counterpart are amazing mascaras. They do amazing things for volume, albeit with the use of clumps, but they do nothing to hold a curl. I don’t generally have troubles with smudging from regular mascaras and this is true about the Lancome formula. I haven’t tried the waterproof formula but I cringe a little bit at the thought of paying that price after discovering great DS mascaras. Nonetheless, it’s a great mascara and one that I save for days when I don’t need my mascara to hold a curl but I still crave a bit of volume. In addition, when I use this mascara, I know that removing my eye makeup at the end of the day will be a little bit easier.

4 Comments

  1. I half agree with you on the drugstore vs. high-end debate with mascaras. I’ve used some really great drugstore ones and since we go through mascara so quickly, it makes sense not to splurge. That being said, I have good results with Lancome mascaras like you! Other high-end brands that are really popular though, haven’t worked for me at all. I guess it’s a bit of research and luck to find something good!

    Reply

    1. Mascaras are tricky because they are not a ‘one size fits all’ product as we all have different lashes and look for mascaras to accomplish different things. How funny that we have had similar experiences!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

